What are you looking for?

Who's involved

The Innovative Farmers network is made up of growing group of forward thinking farmers and growers, researchers and advisors; working together to tackle the stark challenges which farming faces. The network is supported by researchers and businesses who understand the vital importance of farmer-led innovation.


Innovative Farmers (formerly known as the Duchy Future Farming Programme) is primarily funded by the King Charles III Charitable Fund through the sales of Waitrose Duchy Organic products. The programme is managed by the Soil Association. Many of the UK's top agri-research organisations have been involved in field labs. We are grateful to the many partners and sponsors that help to make farmer-led innovation happen.

Find out more about us



We are currently partners in the following projects:




Interested in becoming a partner or sponsor?

Help us support farmers and growers to be at the cutting edge of nature friendly farming. To find out more about how you or your organisation can support on the ground innovation to accelerate progress towards agroecological farming get in touch

Get in touch

Benefits for researchers

Practical, real life, science where farmers are seen as partners not end users. Five reasons for researchers to get involved in field labs.

Discover more


The programme is advised by a steering group of independent scientists and representatives from agricultural organisations. Its members also help review applications to our research fund.

Our Steering Group


•    Prof. Tim Benton (Chair) - University of Leeds, former Global Food Security Champion
•    Prof. Tom MacMillan - Royal Agricultural University
•    Dr Belinda Clarke - Agri-Tech East
•    Dr Will Simonson – Organic Research Centre
•    Dr Colin Tosh – Organic Research Centre
•    Dr Melanie Wright - Rothamsted Research
•    Dr Philip Morley - British Tomato Growers Association / APS Group
•    Vicky Robinson – LEAF
•    Dr Andy Cureton - BBSRC
•    Sam Durham – NFU
•    Matthew Brearley - AHDB
•    Prof. Nigel Scollan - Queen's University, Belfast
•    Dr Ian Shield – Rothamsted Research
•    Deborah Crossan – Innovation for Agriculture
•    Prof. Simon Blackmore

  • Lorem Ipsum - ABC


•    Minette Batters - NFU
•    Stephen and Lynn Briggs - Abacus Organic Associates
•    Caroline Drummond, MBE - LEAF UK
•    Adrian Dolby - Barrington Park Estate
•    Prof. Ioan Fazey - University of Dundee
•    Prof. Maggie Gill - University of Aberdeen
•    Prof. Sir Charles Godfray (Chair 2012 to 2017) - Oxford University
•    Prof Nic Lampkin - Organic Research Centre
•    Prof Michael Winter – University of Exeter
•    Prof. Erik Millstone - University of Sussex
•    Prof. Michel Pimbert - Coventry University
•    Dr Duncan Pullar - DairyCo
•    Adam Quinney - NFU
•    Iain Tolhurst - Tolhurst Organic
•    Prof. Sir Robert Watson - University of East Anglia
•    Prof. Michael Winter – University of Exeter